The Design School | Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts

Focus on Faculty

Press Release Photo

Dean Chambers, a faculty associate in landscape architecture in The Design School, was named 2015 Educator of the Year by the Arizona chapter of the America Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA).


[More faculty news]

Student and Alumni News

  • Alex Curtis, Lorin Saenz and Emily Vester, recent alumni of The Design School, won third place in the Sherwin-Williams 2015 STIR Student Design Challenge in the commercial design category.


[More student and alumni news]

Upcoming Events

[More events]


For media inquries or story ideas, contact:
Courtney Carroll, 480.965.6390 |

Video + Radio Coverage

  • Designing for social justice at ASU: Twin brothers are 'first generation' college grads
    Clemente Rico Rodriguez and Maurilio Rico Rodriguez were born five minutes apart on March 5, 1991, in a small town in central Mexico. The twins will both receive degrees in landscape architecture from The Design School at Arizona State University. They are “first generation,” as Clemente puts it – the first in their family to graduate from college.

  • SHADE Returns to Phoenix!
    A team of students from Arizona State University and the University of New Mexico created an energy-efficient house dubbed SHADE (Solar Homes Adapting for Desert Equilibrium) for the U.S. Department of Energy’s 2013 Solar Decathlon international competition, which concluded Oct. 12, 2013. The ASU team consisted of 26 faculty members and current and former students from The Design School in the ASU Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts, the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering and the School of Sustainability.