About us

We are nationally and internationally recognized for our faculty, and our programs rank among the top 20 design schools in the country.

Home / About / Leadership

Leadership

Director

Jason Schupbach, director and professor of practice
480-965-3536
Jason.Schupbach@asu.edu

Assistant Directors

Joseph Ewan, assistant director of graduate studies, program head and associate professor of Landscape Architecture
Design North, Room 158D
480-965-0615
Joseph.Ewan@asu.edu

Jacques Giard, assistant director of academic affairs, professor of Industrial Design
Design South, Room 214
480-965-1373
jgiard@asu.edu

Wil Heywood, assistant director of wellness, clinical assistant professor of Visual Communication Design
Design North, Room 388
480-965-7662
William.Heywood@asu.edu

Philip Horton, assistant director of undergraduate studies, program head and clinical assistant professor of Architecture
Design North, Room162 
480-861-4325
Philip.Horton@asu.edu

John Takamura, assistant director of research and creative activities, associate professor of Industrial Design
Desing North, Room 284
480-965-7171
John.Takamura@asu.edu

Program Heads

Architecture

Philip Horton, assistant director, program head and clinical assistant professor of Architecture
Design North, Room 82 
480-861-4325
Philip.Horton@asu.edu

Industrial Design

Dosun Shin, program head for the Industrial Design program and associate professor
Design North, Room 258
480-965-7816
Dosun.Shin@asu.edu

Interior Design

Jose Bernardi, program head for the Interior Design program and associate professor
Design North, Room 395
480-965-9140
Jose.Bernardi@asu.edu

Landscape Architecture

Joseph Ewan, assistant director, program head and associate professor of Landscape Architecture
Design North, Room 158D
480-965-0615
Joseph.Ewan@asu.edu

Visual Communication Design

Alfred Sanft, program head for the Visual Communication design program and associate professor
Design North, Room 154D
480-965-3238
asanft@asu.edu

 

Program Coordinators

Environmental Design

Elena Rocchi, clinical associate professor and coordinator for the Environmental Design program
Design North, Room 397
Elena.Rocchi@asu.edu

Master of the Built Environment

Harvey Bryan, coordinator for the Master of Science in the Built Environment program and professor
Design South, Room 301
480-965-6094
Harvey.Bryan@asu.edu

Master of Science in Design

John Takamura, coordinator for the Master of Science in Design program and associate professor
Design North, Room 284
480-965-7171
John.Takamura@asu.edu

Master of Urban Design

Darren Petrucci, coordinator for the Urban Design program and professor
Design South, Room 314
480-965-6368
Darren.Petrucci@asu.edu

PhD

Ted Cook, director of the PhD program and professor 
Design South, Room 312
480-965-7662
Edward.Cook@asu.edu